Brooklyn Nets

The Brooklyn Nets will mark their 50th season in 2016-17 and their fifth since embarking on a new era with the move to downtown Brooklyn. Forty years after the incomparable Julius “Dr. J” Erving revolutionized the game while leading the Nets to two ABA championships, the franchise continues to blaze new trails. With the opening of HSS Training Center in February of 2016, the Nets have brought all of their business and basketball operations to the Brooklyn, determined to play a central role in community and economic development in the borough.

Founded as the New Jersey Americans and debuting during the inaugural ABA season of 1967-68, the franchise moved to Long Island the following year and was renamed the New York Nets. The team won ABA championships in 1974 and 1976 before joining the NBA for the 1976-77 season and then moving to New Jersey for the 1977-78 season. The Nets spent 35 seasons in New Jersey, playing at the Rutgers Athletic Center for four years, the Brendan Byrne Arena at the Meadowlands (later renamed Continental Airlines Arena and IZOD Center) for 29 years and Prudential Center in Newark for two seasons. Since joining the NBA, the Nets have reached the playoffs 19 times, won four Atlantic Division titles and two Eastern Conference championships, reaching the NBA Finals in 2002 and 2003.

For instant updates and behind-the-scenes content, follow @BrooklynNets on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram.